You are:

eBulletin issue 1, Spring 2009

All change at the GOC

The 11 new Council members, who make up the reformed General Optical Council, took up office on 1 April. This is the first time in the Council’s history that members have been independently appointed, rather than elected by the optical professions.

All chnage feature

The new Council comprises lay members, optometrists and dispensing opticians. The new members are:

Lay members
Morag Alexander
Anna Bradley
Brian Coulter
Peter Douglas
Fiona Peel

Paul Carroll
Robert Hogan
Kevin Lewis
Nicholas Rumney

Dispensing opticians
Liam Kite
James Russell

Geoff Harris was appointed as the Council’s lay chair in January 2009.

Over the next few months, GOC members and staff look set to be particularly busy as the organisation adopts new ways of working. Members will receive presentations from various partner organisations – including optical bodies, and patient and public groups – as part of their induction. The Council’s first task is to outline a strategic plan that sets out key priorities and projects for the next five years.

The first meeting of the newly-formed GOC took place on 2 April. Papers from the meeting are available to download. Further public meetings will be held in July, September and November. Meetings are held at the GOC’s offices in Harley Street. Anyone interested in attending should email  

The Council has been reconstituted in response to the Government’s reforms in healthcare regulation. Each of the other UK healthcare regulatory bodies is required to undergo similar changes.