You are:

Policy development banner

ESR policy development and research

Our approach to the Education Strategic Review is guided by evidence based policy making and learning from other regulatory approaches. 

Research

Publication date

Title (links to document) and description

June 2018
Research into the views and perceptions of newly qualified optical practitioners and optical employers across the UK.

November 2017

Research commissioned into educational patterns and trends in optical and other health professional education and regulation. 

September 2017

Discussion paper exploring the changing roles of optical professionals in the UK, to inform the Education Strategic Review. 
 
Background briefings and statements

Publication date

Title (links to document) and description

April 2018

High level findings statement from the ESR concepts and principles consultation. The consultation ran from December 2017 to March 2018.

February 2018

Summary of roundtable event with sectoral and health service system leaders, about the potential future direction of eye health and vision services in the UK.
 
Consultation and engagement

Publication date

Title (links to document) and description

May 2019

ESR Education Standards and Learning Outcomes consultation analysis

Infographic

Analysis of responses to the GOC's ESR consultation on the draft Education Standards for providers and Learning Outcomes for students which ran from November 2018 to February 2019.

April 2018

Analysis of responses to the GOC’s Education Strategic Review concepts and principles consultation which ran from December 2017 to March 2018. 

March 2018

ESR concepts and principles consultation question and answer factsheet.

December 2017

An exploratory consultation which sets out a series of concepts and principles we are exploring as part of our Education Strategic Review. The consultation closed on Friday 16 March 2018.

June 2017

Independent summary of responses to our initial Education Strategic Review Call for Evidence, along with an annex of all responses where consent was given for publication.

 

Content Panels

Search our registers

Search our registers

Find a registered individual practitioner or business.

Log CET points

Log CET points

Use the MyGOC area of our website to log CET points or find events in your local area

CET

CET

Click on the link below for more information and requirements for the 2019-21 CET cycle.

Careers in eyecare

Careers in eyecare

Thinking of becoming an optometrist or dispensing optician ?